Gillette Out-of-State-Driver Accident Attorneys
Providing Compassionate and Knowledgeable Legal Representation for Gillette Out-of-State-Driver Accidents
Accidents caused by out-of-state drivers happen all the time. Whether they are traveling for work, to see family, or for work, there are many reasons that could lead drivers across state lines and into Wyoming. Unfortunately, these types of accidents have an added layer of complexity, so it is crucial to hire an experienced personal injury attorney to handle your accident claim. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., our car accident lawyers in Gillette could provide knowledgeable representation as you navigate each step of this process to pursue the compensation you deserve. Call our law office today at (307) 257-7800 to schedule a consultation.
According to the Wyoming Department of Transportation, a third of all drivers involved in car accidents in the state were licensed in another territory, state, or country in 2020. Accidents caused by out-of-state drivers are at their highest during the winter months and during the summer months, which is likely due to the fact that many travel during those particular seasons. To stay safe, consider following these driving tips:
- Get plenty of rest, especially if you plan on driving long distances. Severe fatigue can be comparable to intoxicated driving, so get enough sleep the night before your travels.
- Take your car in for regular maintenance and make sure it is in good shape to take on the road.
- If possible, avoid driving in bad weather. Heavy rain, fog, and snow can all increase the risk of an accident.
- Speeding is a major cause of car accidents, so even if you are in a hurry to get to your destination, it is important to obey the speed limit.
If you were involved in an accident caused by an out-of-state driver, you could file a claim to recover damages for the losses you suffered, including medical expenses, lost wages, property damages, and pain and suffering. To start this process, you could file a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance policy. When filing an out-of-state accident claim in Wyoming, there are some laws to keep in mind:
- In Wyoming, all motorists are required to have minimum liability insurance that includes $50,000 per accident involving injuries, $20,000 for property, and $25,000 per injured person. Other states, such as California, have smaller policies, which is why insurance companies increase out-of-state driver’s insurance to match state minimums.
- Although Wyoming is an at-fault state where at-fault drivers have to pay compensation to accident victims, it is also a contributory negligence state. That means if you were partially responsible for the accident, any compensation you are awarded would be reduced by the percentage for which you are at fault. If you are more than 50% at fault for an accident, you will not receive compensation.
If you were involved in a truck accident, it is likely the trucker was from out of state. The chances are also high that, under those circumstances, more than one party would be at fault.
If you were injured in an accident in Campbell County and an out-of-state driver was responsible for it, you should not hesitate to retain experienced legal counsel to handle your case. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., our Gillette personal injury lawyers are committed to representing the wrongfully injured and providing the fierce representation you need to pursue fair and just compensation for your injuries. Call us today at (307) 257-7800 to schedule a consultation.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.