Filing an Out-of-State Accident Claim
Wyoming streets, roads, and highways are traveled by local drivers, as well tourists from out-of-state who come to hunt, enjoy our lovely scenery, or visit one of our many state attractions. Many are just passing through while heading to another destination.
Unfortunately, many are not prepared to drive on our rural roads and can cause serious accidents. Drivers from out-of-state are unfamiliar with Wyoming roads and the treacherous conditions we live with every day. They are often unfamiliar with operating a vehicle on wet, icy, or snowy roads and travel too fast for conditions, leading to local drivers suffering catastrophic injuries.
Your Right to Compensation
If you were injured by an out-of-state driver, then they should be held responsible for all financial, emotional, and personal losses you have suffered. Following a collision, you may be able to file a claim against the driver’s insurance policy to help you recover compensation. Since the collision took place in the state of Wyoming, the claims process is subject to our state’s laws.
Filing a claim against an out-of-state driver may seem confusing at first, but our team at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. can guide you through the process. We can investigate your accident, review the other driver’s insurance policy, and fight to get you proper compensation for your injuries.
When filing an out-of-state car accident claim, it is important to understand the following Wyoming state laws:
- Auto Insurance: Every driver is legally required to have minimum liability insurance in Wyoming, which includes $25,000 per person injured, $50,000 per accident involving an injury, and $20,000 for property. However, other states may have smaller insurance policies, such as California where the minimum is $15,000/$30,000/$5,000. To fix this issue, insurance companies will increase an out-of-state driver’s insurance to match state minimums. This means an out-of-state driver must have at least $25,000/$50,000/$20,000 in auto insurance.
- Fault and Negligence: Wyoming is an at-fault state, which means drivers who cause accidents are responsible for paying compensation to victims. However, we are also a contributory negligence state, which means a victim can be found partially at fault for their own injuries. If a court decides you are at least 51% at fault for a collision, then you cannot receive compensation. However, if you are 50% or less at fault, then you can still receive partial compensation.
- Traffic Laws: Once a driver crosses into Wyoming, they must follow all local traffic laws. Drivers can claim that they did not now about our laws to avoid the consequences of a collision. Whether a driver violated local speed limits or was testing while driving, they can be held liable for your injuries if they violate the law.
The Help You Need When You Need It Most: A Law Firm You Can Trust.
If you are in an accident caused by an out-of-state driver and suffered an injury, you deserve to recover full compensation for all damages. Wyoming law is a fault-based system, which allows you to file an insurance claim to recover damages. It is important to have a skilled Gillette car accident attorney at your side through the claims process to get you the highest possible award.
Our team at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. provides each client with an exceptional level of dedication, a high work ethic, and responsive legal counsel, and has achieved many remarkable victories in and out of court. If you were injured in an accident with an out-of-state driver, contact us at once at (307) 257-7800 at once.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.