Gillette Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyers
Injured by an Uninsured Driver? Call Us Today
While all drivers are required to have auto liability insurance in Wyoming, it is not uncommon to encounter a driver who has let his or her insurance lapse, expire, or has simply canceled it to save money. This is incredibly dangerous, however, as it can make it extremely hard for you to receive compensation if an uninsured driver hits you. Even in situations where a driver does have insurance, he or she may not have enough to cover your medical bills and recovery. However, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance company for compensation.
If you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver in Campbell County, reach out to the Gillette uninsured motorist accident attorney at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., as soon as possible. We can review all available insurance policies and advocate for full compensation so that you can recover comfortably. We offer every client a free consultation, so there is no cost to call Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., at (307) 257-7800.
Wyoming Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Policies
In the state of Wyoming, all drivers must have the minimum auto liability insurance, which includes:
- $25,000 coverage for personal injuries to a single person;
- $50,000 coverage for personal injuries to two or more people; and
- $20,000 coverage for property damage.
In addition, drivers are also required to have uninsured motorist (UM) coverage unless they refuse it in writing. These policies apply when a driver is hit by someone who does not have insurance. This also includes drivers who flee the scene of a crash, such as in a hit-and-run collision. UM policies are required to match your auto liability policy. If you are struck by a hit-and-run driver, you can receive a minimum of $25,000 for your injuries in a claim.
It is important to know that UM policies require that you or your vehicle was physically touched by the hit-and-run car. If you are driven off the road but the car never hit you, then the policy will not apply. In addition, UM coverage only covers injuries, and if you would like to get your car repaired, you should add on an uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) policy.
You also have the option of adding underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage to your policy. This type of insurance is not required by Wyoming state law, but it is incredibly useful. For example, if you are injured by a driver who has the minimum $25,000, but your medical bills are $50,000, you can also file a claim with your UIM policy. Because UIM policies also match auto liability insurance policies, you can receive a minimum of $25,000, allowing you to fully cover your medical bills.
What If I’m Injured While Walking or Biking?
UM and UIM policies follow a driver even when he or she is not in a vehicle. If you are hit while walking or riding a bike, then your UM and UIM policies will still cover you. Given how dangerous these collisions can be, this coverage may be incredibly helpful in getting your medical bills paid and ensuring you can take time off work to rest.
How to File a UM/UIM Accident Claim
While UM/UIM policies are handled by your own auto insurance company, that does not mean they are easier than standard auto accident claims. When you file a UM/UIM claim, you are technically making your insurance company your opponent. This means it will try to fight how much money it has to pay you. It may argue that your injuries are not as bad as you think, that your policy does not cover all of your bills, or that you are at fault for your own injuries.
However, if you work with a skilled lawyer, you may be able to get proper compensation for your injuries. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we are strong advocates for injured drivers, pedestrians, and cyclists throughout Campbell County. We know the claims process inside and out and can protect your rights in a car accident claim.
If you reach out to us to file a UM/UIM claim, we can:
- Review your insurance policy to determine what compensation you can receive
- Investigate your accident and the at-fault driver’s insurance policy
- Collect evidence of negligence
- Negotiate with your insurance provider on your behalf
- File a lawsuit in court to get you compensation, if necessary
While you may be scared of taking your case to court, the team at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., is made up of experienced and knowledgeable trial attorneys who can rigorously protect your right to compensation. The majority of car accident claims settle during negotiations, but we always prepare as if we are going to trial so that you receive the strongest representation in a claim.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Lawyer
Car accident claims can be difficult to deal with on your own, even if you are filing a UM/UIM claim. Your insurance company may fail to answer your calls, minimize your coverage, or deny compensation altogether. That is why you should not hesitate to call a Gillette car accident attorney at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. Our team will use all of our skills to advocate for full and proper compensation for your injuries. To schedule a free case evaluation today, contact our firm at (307) 257-7800.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.