Gillette DUI Defense Lawyer
Arrested for Drunk Driving? Call (307) 257-7800 Now
Just about anyone would start to panic if they saw a police car with flashing lights behind them, signaling them to pull over. Having a police officer question you and accuse you of driving under the influence is scary, and seemingly benign situations can quickly escalate. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, turn to a Gillette DUI attorney from Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. We are here to protect your rights and to help you avoid a conviction for DUI.
Solid Results. Effective Strategies.
Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., prepares every case to the fullest extent. When it comes to fighting for the results you need, we know how to develop defense strategies that can help you move forward with your life after an arrest or DUI charge. We know what's at stake: let us fight for you.See Our Successful DUI Results
Defining DUI in Wyoming
A person can be charged with a DUI in Wyoming if he or she is found to have a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08% or more, or if he or she is displaying signs of intoxication. The level of alcohol in the blood can be tested during a number of chemical sobriety tests. Under Wyoming’s implied consent laws, all drivers with licenses have “given consent” any time they get behind the wheel to take these tests. However, you do not have to take field sobriety tests, so politely refuse to take them.
In Wyoming, even those who are not driving but have control of the vehicle can be charged with driving under the influence. This often happens when someone realizes he’s had too much to drink and go to his car to sleep it off. The police claim he could wake up, still drunk, and potentially drive, which is why these offenses are treated as DUI.
What If It’s My First Offense?
There is a good chance that if this is your first DUI conviction, you will not be sentenced to jail time, or even have it added to your criminal record.
This is because Wyoming has a one-time program known as “probation before sentencing.” Those who have been convicted of a first-offense DUI will not be sentenced. Instead, the individual will be placed on probation for six months. During those six months, he or she will be required to participate in an alcohol treatment program. Once that program has been completed, the conviction will be removed from the offender’s record. You can take part in this program only one time.
Those arrested for a DUI in Wyoming have their licenses suspended automatically, usually at the time of arrest. License suspensions for first offenders are usually for 90 days. From the time you are arrested, you have only 20 days to schedule a hearing with WYDOT to challenge your license being suspended.
If losing your license could cause you to lose your job, you may be granted a hardship license. A hardship license allows an individual to keep his license, but these licenses are limited. For instance, you may only be allowed to drive to work.
Why Hire Our Gillette DUI Attorney?
There is a short timeframe for us to build a defense on your behalf, as well as to protect your right to drive. In addition to WYDOT penalties, if you are convicted of DUI, you will face a variety of criminal consequences. For these reasons, we highly recommend taking action immediately after your arrest.
If you are convicted of DUI, you could face these penalties:
- Up to 10 years of jail time
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- License suspension of up to 90 days
- Lifelong ignition interlock requirement
In cases involving allegations of underage drinking or commercial drivers, there are additional consequences. If you are a commercial driver, you could lose your CDL for a year if you are convicted of a DUI. Our Gillette criminal defense lawyer can work hard on your behalf to avoid these consequences.
DUI Cases We Represent
When you are facing charges for any type of DUI or drugged driving offense in Campbell County, you need to choose an attorney who has experience and skill in this field of law.
We represent a wide range of DUI cases, including:
- First DUI
- Second DUI
- Multiple DUI
- Underage DUI
- Felony DUI
- Controlled substance DUI
- DUI with injury
- DUI manslaughter
To make an appointment for a free initial consultation, call us now at (307) 257-7800.
- State of Wyoming v. M.M.—2018
Felony DUI, DISMISSED
- State of Wyoming v. J.E—2016
DUI charge, DISMISSED
- State of Wyoming v. J.R.—2015
DUI charge, DISMISSED
Past Results: Disclaimer
Initials of the Defendant may be changed to hide the identity of the individual whose case is described on the page. The case results are factually accurate. These case results were obtained by Mr. Titus throughout the course of his professional career, including past experience at a previous law firm. However, every case is different, and past results by no means guarantee future success.
- The Facts on DUIs in Wyoming
- Which States Have the Most DUIs?
- Thanksgiving Is A Terrible Time For A DUI
- Court Supervised Treatment Program - Wyoming Department of Health
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.