Gillette Game and Fishing Violation Attorney
In Wyoming, hunting game and fishing are a lifestyle – but having knowledge of the state laws is critical. Hunters and fishermen can surprisingly heavy penalties for violating state or federal laws. Our state enforces strict guidelines for when and where hunters and fishermen can operating, and any violation can lead to serious charges.
If you have been charged with a hunting or fishing violations, contact Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. immediately. We have years of experience defending clients throughout Campbell County and understand how serious these charges are. We will use our expertise and knowledge to fight for your best interests. Call us at (307) 257-7800 to get a free case strategy session with a Gillette game and fishing violation attorney.
The state of Wyoming has many strict guidelines for how hunters can operate on public and private lands. Violation any of these regulations can result in license suspensions, thousands of dollars in fines, and even jail time. Some of the hunting regulations in Wyoming include:
- Hunters are required to have proper licenses, including out of state hunters.
- It is unlawful to hunt on another person’s property without permission.
- A hunter can only have one license for hunting big or trophy games species each year, in most cases.
- Hunters must acquire conservation stamps, except in the case of except one-day licenses and Pioneer licenses.
- Out of state hunters must have a guide, in most cases.
- Baiting of game is unlawful.
- All game animals must be tagged correctly per regulations.
- Keep evidence of the sex of the animal – many hunting licenses allow for a specific sex of animal.
- Only edible portions of the animal can be transported, with part of the head and spinal column attached.
- Carcass coupon must be dated and displayed.
- No fully automatic weapons can be used.
- Firearm caliber restrictions must be adhered to.
- Hunters must wear fluorescent orange clothing per regulations.
Failing to follow these regulations can result in being charged with:
- Wasteful destruction of game
- Illegal disposals
- Hunting license violations
- Trespassing while hunting
- Failure to correctly tag the animal
- Hunting in wrong area
- Failure to purchase conservation stamp
The consequences for a hunting violation are severe. There are two aspects of these cases: administrative and criminal penalties. Administrative penalties include receiving suspension points on a hunter’s record, which can lead to a license suspension or revocation. With criminal penalties, a defendant can face imprisonment in county jail or state prison, as well as thousands of dollars in fines.
- Low misdemeanor violations: Fines up to $1,000, jail time for up to six months, hunting license revocation, and suspension of your right to have a hunting license for up to three years.
- High misdemeanor: Fines up to $10,000, jail time up to twelve months, revocation of hunting license for remainder of the year and suspension for up to six years.
- Felony: Fines, years in state prison, and other penalties may be imposed in a conviction.
You may also face forfeiture of your firearm.
Wyoming has an extensive set of fishing regulations, which includes guidelines on when to purchase a license, receiving conservation stamps, rules for where a fishermen can hunter, and other guidelines. The most important guidelines include:
- All fishermen must have valid licenses.
- Every person fishing in Wyoming must purchase one conservation stamp, which is valid for one year, and must be in your possession while fishing.
- It is a violation to release a live fish that has been held on a stringer, in a container, or in a live well, unless you have special written approval.
- You cannot plant or release live fish or fish eggs without authorization, except for fish caught legally and released immediately upon capture.
- It is unlawful to sell, barter, or throw away any edible portion of a game fish.
- You require the landowner’s permission to enter, fish from, beach your boat, or anchor your boat on another person’s property.
- It is unlawful to take game fish intended for another person (party fishing).
- You cannot possess or transport an invasive species into the state of Wyoming.
- You are required to pay an “aquatic invasive species program fee” as part of registering your boat, which must be affixed to the watercraft.
- Before you fish with live baitfish in any area in Wyoming, ensure it is one of the areas in which it is allowed.
- You are required to drain all water from your boat, including the hull, ballast tanks, bilge, live wells, and motor.
- Live plants must be removed from the boat and trailer.
- Any containers used to transport legal live baitfish must be entirely free of any plants.
- Out-of-state boats must be inspected before launching.
- Any live baitfish or any fish that has been in an aquarium cannot be released, abandoned, or allowed to escape.
- Certain fish (brook stickleback) must be killed at once and cannot be owned or transported.
The most common charge if fishing without a valid license. A game warden, commissioner, or another employee can arrest you with a warrant for illegally fishing. Fishing without a license is a misdemeanor in most cases, which will require a court appearance, posting bond, and the risk of facing fines, time in county jail, or both. A high misdemeanor may include up to $10,000 in fines, along with up to one year imprisonment.
Every case is unique, but one factor is true in every situation – you need an experienced Gillette criminal defense attorney to plan your defense and represent you throughout the proceedings. The goal is to help you avoid paying expensive fines, losing your ability to hunt or fish in the state, or spending time in prison. Call Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. at (307) 257-7800 to get the qualified, experienced legal help you need.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.