Theft Crime Lawyers in Gillette
Being charged with any type of theft crime can be scary, especially when you are not sure who to turn to. Security guards and law enforcement may put pressure on you to answer questions or plead guilty, with promises of release or cutting a deal. It is essential that you remain silent and ask to speak with a Gillette criminal defense attorney. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we are known for fighting for our clients' rights and acting as strong legal advocates, regardless of the theft charges they face.
Our legal team understands how high the stakes are when you have been arrested for a theft crime in Campbell County. We work hard to gather all existing evidence and build an effective defense strategy on your behalf. The sooner you retain our services, the sooner we can get to work on developing a plan.
Whether you are facing a felony or misdemeanor theft charge, you could be facing severe penalties if you are convicted. The consequences for a theft crime charge can range from a small fee and a short time in jail to incarceration in state prison and a permanent felony offense on your record. You can count on our Gillette theft crime attorney to fight for your future and freedom.
The following are the common theft crimes that people can be charged with in Wyoming, along with possible punishments if they are found guilty of such a charge. It is essential to understand exactly what you have been charged with and the penalties that are at stake - and to choose an experienced Gillette criminal defense lawyer to aggressively fight for your defense.
- Petty Theft: Defined as knowingly taking or controlling someone else's property to deprive him or her of that property, so long as the property's value is less than $1,000. It is a misdemeanor and punishable by imprisonment up to 6 months and fines up to $750.
- Grand Theft: Defined as knowingly taking or controlling someone else's property to deprive him or her of that property, when the property's value is $1,000 or more. It is a felony and punishable by imprisonment up to 10 years and fines up to $10,000.
- Auto Theft: Taking a vehicle typically falls under grand theft due to the value of a car, truck, or SUV. As such, it is usually charged as a felony punishable by imprisonment up to 10 years and fines up to $10,000. Wyoming does not have a "joyride" law in place, which means all auto theft charges are serious.
- Robbery: This is considered a crime against a person as it involves either inflicting bodily harm on someone or threatening to do so. It is a felony and punishable by imprisonment up to 10 years. If a person purposely inflicts bodily harm or uses a deadly weapon it becomes Aggravated Robbery and punishment increases to imprisonment for at least 5 years and up to 25 years.
- Burglary: When someone enters or remains in a building or vehicle with the purpose of committing theft. It is a felony and punishable by imprisonment up to 10 years and fines up to $10,000. If someone inflicts bodily harm or is armed with a deadly weapon, it becomes Aggravated Burglary, which is punishable by imprisonment for at least 5 years and up to 25 years and fines up to $50,000.
- Shoplifting: Defined as concealing or taking property offered for sale without the consent of the owner. It can also include altering or changing price tags to obtain property for less than the listed price. Punishments are similar to petty theft and grand theft, depending on the value of the property.
- Carjacking: Since carjacking is usually defined as the use of physical violence or threats while taking an occupied vehicle, it typically falls under robbery or aggravated robbery. This makes it a felony with penalties based on the details of the incident and use of force or possession of a deadly weapon.
As you can see, a strong defense is important after any theft charge. Just a few dollars in value can mean the difference between a misdemeanor charge and a felony charge. The distinction between "aggravated" and "non-aggravated" charges when it comes to burglary and robbery are also important, and can make a tremendous difference in the type of punishment and room for plea or defense against the charges.
You need an experienced and knowledgeable Wyoming theft defense attorney to represent you if you have been charged with a theft crime. Trying to handle what you perceive as a minor charge on your own is a huge mistake that can have life-long consequences for you and your family. A strong defense can save you from losing years of your life and thousands of dollars to a weak conviction.
We offer defense for the following types of charges:
Hiring the right firm could mean the difference between a conviction and the dismissal or reduction of your charges. Our familiarity with the local judges, courts, and justice system paired with our dedication to preparation can only benefit your case.
If you or a loved one has been charged with theft in Campbell County, contact our Gillette criminal lawyer today to review your case. Call us now at (307) 257-7800 to schedule a free consultation.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.