Gillette Petty Theft Defense Lawyers
Charged With Theft in Campbell County?
Being charged with theft is a scary situation. You may have no idea why the police arrested you, what you did that was considered a crime, or how to deal with the court system. While petty theft is a minor crime, you can still face serious penalties if you’re convicted. However, with the right defense, you may be able to beat the charge and return home without any issues.
If you or someone you love was charged with petty theft in Campbell County, reach out to the trial attorneys at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. Our legal team can go to work investigating your case and prepare a strong defense. Our Gillette petty theft attorneys are available to sit down with you and your family in a free case strategy session to discuss your options. Do not wait. Call us at (307) 257-7800 today.
Wyoming’s Petty Theft Laws
Theft crimes are typically split between grand theft and petty theft in Wyoming. Grand theft is a more serious charge. It is a felony that can be punished with years in state prison and thousands of dollars in fines. Petty theft is charged as a misdemeanor, meaning you may have to serve less than a year in county jail and pay lesser court fees if convicted.
The difference between petty theft and grand theft is the value of the property you allegedly stole. If you knowingly stole someone else’s property and it was worth $1,000.00 or more, then you will be charged with felony grand theft. However, if the property was worth less than $1,000.00, then you would only be charged with misdemeanor petty theft.
While petty theft is a lighter offense, it is still very serious, and you should not hesitate to contact a skilled attorney to defend you.
What Are Penalties for Theft Charges?
Petty theft is a misdemeanor in Wyoming that can lead to:
- Up to six months in county jail;
- A maximum fine of $1,000; and
- Informal probation.
If this is your first offense and the stolen property was not worth that much, you will likely receive probation or be able to enter a diversion program. This option is more common for juvenile offenders, but a skilled attorney can fight for this option for an adult. However, the trial lawyers at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., may also be able to get your charges dismissed altogether.
How Can Someone Beat a Petty Theft Charge?
The district attorney can only send you to jail for petty theft if he or she can prove that you knowingly took someone else’s property and had no intention of returning it. The district attorney must prove this beyond a reasonable doubt in the minds of all twelve jury members. Based on this, our trial attorneys can build several defenses to get your charges reduced or dismissed. These include:
- You accidentally took someone else’s property and had no intention of keeping it.
- The owner let you borrow the property, but you believed that you could keep the property.
- Someone else took the property, and you were accidentally charged.
- The value of the property was very low, and your sentence should be very low.
- The police illegally searched your home or vehicle for evidence.
- The police committed misconduct during your arrest.
Work With an Experienced Gillette Trial Attorney
No one should be sent to jail for a simple mistake or misunderstanding. If you or someone you love has been charged with misdemeanor petty theft in Campbell County, do not hesitate to contact a Gillette theft crime defense lawyer at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. Our legal team can explain your rights in a free consultation and fight for you in the courtroom to get your charges dropped. We have spent years serving our neighbors throughout Campbell County and achieving positive case results. Trust us to handle your defense. Call us at (307) 257-7800 to speak to a trial attorney today.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.