Driver’s License Suspension Lawyers in Gillette
Call a Gillette DUI Defense Attorney to Protect Your Right to Drive
Anyone facing a DUI charge in Wyoming will lose their license temporarily, even for a first offense. At the time of arrest, an individual charged will be provided with a temporary license that will be valid for 30 days. What you do during those 30 days is very important, and we recommend calling a Gillette DUI defense lawyer from Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. Our legal team will look at the facts, challenge the suspension, and work hard to protect your future. Call (307) 257-7800 today.
Administrative Per Se License Suspension
Any person charged with a DUI will have his or her license suspended for 90 days under Wyoming’s 90-day administrative per se license suspension. That suspension will apply even if the person is ultimately found “not guilty” of committing a crime.
But the administrative per se license suspension can be challenged, and it is very important that those who wish to get their license back do challenge it.
Challenging an Administrative Per Se License Suspension
While the temporary license given to you after a DUI arrest will be valid for 30 days from the date of arrest, you only have 20 days from that date to challenge the suspension. If the suspension is not challenged within those first 20 days, your license will be suspended for the full 90 days. This information can be found on the temporary license itself, but it is often overlooked.
Also on the temporary license is the hearing or record review request form, which you need to fill out to challenge the license suspension. It is advised that those wishing to challenge the suspension seek the help of an attorney before filling out this form.
Benefits of Challenging the Administrative Per Se License Suspension
Of course, the biggest benefit to challenging the administrative per se license suspension is that an you can get your license back, allowing you to drive, even if your case hasn’t yet gone to court.
Following the challenge, there will be a hearing to decide whether or not you keep your license. It will not deal specifically with the DUI charge, any convictions, or penalties for the DUI. However, a Campbell County criminal defense lawyer will use this hearing to gather the evidence the police and prosecution have against you, and use this evidence to build a strong DUI defense for you.
Speak with a Gillette License Suspension Attorney Today
An experienced Gillette criminal defense attorney knows the steps that must be taken after a DUI to help you keep your license and avoid jail time, high fees, and the other stiff penalties a DUI conviction can bring.
The legal team at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., has the experience to build you a strong defense and ensure you face as few penalties as possible, if any at all. If you are facing a drunk driving charge for the first time, or have had multiple DUIs, call us today at (307) 257-7800 so we can start reviewing your case and get you back on the road as quickly as possible.
To make an appointment for a free initial consultation, call us now at (307) 257-7800.
- Appealing a Driver’s License Suspension in Wyoming
- Suspensions/Ignition Interlock - Wyoming Department of Transportation
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.