Appealing a Driver’s License Suspension in Wyoming
Following a DUI arrest, you only have 20 days to request a hearing to prevent the suspension of your license. Even if your case is dismissed, you still need to attend an administrative hearing to retain your driving privileges.
A DUI conviction will result in a driver’s license suspension of at least 90 days. Following a suspension, a driver must attend an administrative hearing to get their license reinstated.
You are much more likely to achieve a favorable outcome and retain your driving privileges at an administrative hearing when you have a lawyer by your side.
How Your License Can Get Suspended
Any driver who fails a BAC test in Wyoming will receive a 30-day temporary license at the time of their arrest. Unless you request a reinstatement hearing within 20 days, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended when your temporary license expires.
To obtain a probationary license, you must request a record review in writing before the suspension begins. When requesting a probationary license, you have to demonstrate that you need to be able to drive to obtain basic necessities such as food, shelter, and education.
Your driver’s license can also be suspended for the following reasons:
- A DUI conviction
- A reckless driving conviction
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to respond to a WYDOT notice
- Failure to maintain car insurance
- Failure to pay traffic tickets, fines, or surcharges
- Failure to pay out-of-state citations
- Failure to pay child support
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Committing 4 moving violations in a 12-month period
Getting Your License Back
When your suspension period has been completed, you may apply for a reinstated driver’s license. To begin the reinstatement process, you must send a written request for a record review to the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT).
If your license was not suspended for an alcohol-related offense, you must fulfill the following requirements to get your license back:
- Complete the period of suspension
- Satisfy all court requirements
- Pay all fines and court fees
- Pay a reinstatement fee
- Provide proof of insurance
Requests for a reinstated driver’s license may be refused for the following reasons:
- Your license is expired
- An additional DUI arrest or conviction occurs
- You never had a valid Wyoming license
- Your license is under suspension in another state
- Your license was revoked
Unlike a suspended license, a revoked license cannot be reinstated. A revoked license has been cancelled and you must retake your driver’s license test before you can get a new one.
Reinstating Your License After an Alcohol-Related Offense
If your license was suspended due to an alcohol-related offense, you must fulfill the above conditions in addition to undergoing a mandatory alcohol assessment. If the substance abuse counselor recommends additional counseling sessions, they must be completed before you can receive a probationary license.
Are You Facing DUI Charges in Wyoming?
Wyoming has extremely tough DUI laws. Even for a first offense, you may be facing strict fines, a 90-day driver’s license suspension, and up to 60 days in jail.
Call Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. today at (307) 257-7800 to speak with an experienced Gillette DUI defense lawyer. We’ll fight aggressively to protect your freedom and your driving privileges.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.