Gillette Rideshare DUI Lawyers
Legal Defense Against Rideshare DUI Charges in Gillette
A DUI can have serious consequences, particularly for rideshare drivers. A conviction could mean being banned from driving for most rideshare programs for a minimum of seven years. In addition to criminal and administrative penalties associated with DUI, you could lose your job and have trouble finding work in the future. If you are facing rideshare DUI charges, speak with an experienced Gillette DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.
What Is DUI in Wyoming?
It is illegal to drive in Wyoming with blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher, or while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle. The crime of driving under the influence is defined as follows in the Wyoming Statutes at Section 31-7-102(b):
“No person shall drive or have actual physical control of any vehicle within this state if the person:
(i) Has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths of one percent (0.08%) or more;
(ii) Has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths of one percent (0.08%) or more, as measured within two (2) hours after the time of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle following a lawful arrest resulting from a valid traffic stop; or
(iii) To a degree which renders him incapable of safely driving:
(A) Is under the influence of alcohol;
(B) Is under the influence of a controlled substance; or
(C) Is under the influence of a combination of any of the elements named in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph.”
What Are the Different Levels of DUI Charges?
Penalties for DUI in Wyoming become more severe with subsequent convictions or aggravating factors. Levels of DUI charges include:
- First DUI: Possible penalties for first-offense DUI include a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of $750. However, Wyoming’s one-time probation before sentencing program makes it possible for most first offenders to avoid jail and a criminal record.
- Second DUI: A second DUI conviction may be punishable by a mandatory seven days up to six months in jail, a fine of $250 to $750, driver’s license suspension for up to one year, and an ignition interlock device for one year.
- Multiple DUIs: Penalties for DUI can be much more severe after the third or subsequent offense. A fourth conviction carries penalties of up to two years in jail (or 10 years in prison for felony DUI), a fine of up to $10,000, driver’s license suspension for up to three years, and a lifetime ignition interlock requirement.
- DUI with injury: First-offense DUI that results in serious bodily injury or death is punishable by up to 10 years in jail, a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, and driver’s license revocation for three years. For second-offense DUI with injury, jail time can be up to 20 years.
- Commercial DUI: Commercial drivers, including rideshare drivers, face stiffer penalties for DUI. Any commercial driver can be arrested with a BAC of .04% and lose his or her license for up to a year for a DUI offense or other serious traffic violation.
How Can You Protect Yourself If You Have Been Accused of DUI?
If you are pulled over and arrested for rideshare DUI, politely exercise your right to remain silent. As soon as possible, consult with an experienced Gillette rideshare DUI attorney. Our drunk driving defense lawyers at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. can thoroughly examine the evidence and challenge every flaw in the prosecution’s case against you with the goal of getting your charges reduced or dismissed.
We have the knowledge and skills to protect your future, and a strong record of success. Contact us at (307) 257-7800.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.