Gillette Underage Driving While Intoxicated Lawyers
Was Your Child Arrested for Underage DUI in Gillette?
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is an offense Wyoming cops take seriously. When you are underage, a DUI charge can be devastating, as it could have serious repercussions on your future. One mistake could impact the rest of a young person’s life.
At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we don’t believe one bad decision should ruin anybody’s life, especially a teenager’s. If your child was arrested for driving while intoxicated in in Gillette, contact us today at (307) 257-7800 to learn more about how we can help.
Drinking and Driving in Wyoming
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, fatal drunk driving crashes happen twice as much in Wyoming compared to the national average. Additionally, more drivers reported driving after drinking too much in Wyoming than in the country as a whole. And local law enforcement has taken note. Gillette police and Wyoming Highway Patrol have made it a priority to be more aggressive towards DUI violations, and that means increased patrols, more checkpoints, and worse penalties. Gone are the days when a kid who had too many drinks could get sent home with a warning after a traffic stop.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI in Wyoming?
No matter your age, drinking and driving is against the law. In Wyoming, a person 21 or over is considered legally intoxicated when his blood alcohol level is at least .08%. The threshold is much lower for commercial drivers, at .04%. This includes school bus drivers. However, a driver under the age of 21 is considered drunk if his blood alcohol level is .02%; essentially, if he’s had one beer.
Adults convicted of their first DUI charge face stiff penalties, including six months in jail and a $750 fine. They could also have their driver’s license suspended for 90 days. Repeat offenders (people with multiple DUI convictions within five years of each other) get in even more trouble. By the fourth conviction, you could be facing two years in prison and the revocation of your license for seven years. That’s not to mention the enhanced penalties. For instance, if you are convicted of a DUI with a child in the car, your prison sentence might be doubled, to one year in length for a first offense. If you are involved in an accident that results in bodily injury, your DUI conviction might be doubled as well.
As for underage drivers convicted of a DUI, a first-time conviction leads to a $750 fine and a license suspension of 90 days, while a second conviction within a year could lead to one month of imprisonment. While these penalties may seem less severe than those faced by adults, the teenager also has the stigma associated with being convicted of a crime. University students could face suspension or expulsion, and high school students might have a more difficult time gaining admission to college.
If your child is arrested in Gillette, take action to fight the underage DUI charge at once.
Talk to a Team of Campbell County Trial Lawyers
The sooner you contact our Gillette DUI attorneys, the faster we can get started building a credible defense on your child’s behalf. The legal team at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., understands how damaging a DUI conviction can be to a young person’s future, and we make the best interests of our clients our top priority. Call us today at (307) 257-7800 to schedule a free consultation.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.