Multiple DUI Defense Attorneys in Gillette
Defense After Multiple DUIs
Anyone can make a mistake, and this holds true with drinking and driving. This is why the Wyoming courts often go easier on people who are facing a first DUI offense.
But when a person is charged with a second, third, or fourth DUI, the courts stop seeing it as a mistake and start seeing it as reckless behavior. Because of that, the penalties for multiple DUIs can be much more severe than those for a first DUI. But at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., our Campbell County DUI defense attorney has a good track record of getting even multiple or felony DUIs dismissed entirely. Every case is unique, though, so speak to our team in a free case strategy session today.
Penalties for Multiple DUIs
In order to compare sentences after multiple convictions, it is important to first know the penalties you face for a first DUI conviction. These include a fine up to $750, jail time up to six months, and a license suspension of 90 days.
In Wyoming, the law can only look back 10 years into a person’s driving record. This means that if someone gets charged with a second DUI, but it is 11 years after the date of his first, that DUI will also be considered a first. If another offense occurs before the 10-year mark, however, the penalties can increase significantly.
When charged with a second DUI, an individual faces fines between $200 and $750, a mandatory sentence of seven days in jail (which can be increased up to six months), and a license suspension of one year.
A third conviction for a DUI in Wyoming comes with very stiff penalties. The fine can be anywhere from $750 to $3,000, and the individual must undergo alcohol assessment. A third offense also carries a penalty of a minimum 30 days in jail, and that sentence can be extended to six months. The accused will also have his or her license revoked for three years.
A fourth DUI conviction sees fines as high as $10,000, and the accused will likely be facing jail time of up to two years. A fourth DUI is a felony and there is a possibility of ten years in prison and a lifetime ignition interlock requirement. Individuals convicted of these charges will also have their driver’s licenses suspended for up to three years.
Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device that is installed in a vehicle and prevents the vehicle from starting if it detects any alcohol in a person’s system. IIDs can be expensive and very inconvenient, as alcohol in cough syrup or mouthwash can prevent the vehicle from starting.
These devices are typically not required for a first DUI offense unless the person’s blood alcohol content was 0.15% or greater, but they will certainly be part of a person’s penalties for multiple DUIs.
An IID is required for a minimum of one year after a second DUI, and for a minimum of two years after a third offense. Those who are convicted of a fourth DUI may be required to have this device on their vehicle for the rest of their lives. In these cases, an appeal can be brought to the court after five years.
Avoid Penalties, Speak to an Experienced Gillette DUI Attorney
Penalties for multiple DUIs are severe. They can greatly impact a person’s life, and even have that person spending a significant amount of time in jail.
If you have been charged with multiple DUIs in Campbell County, speak to a Gillette criminal defense attorney at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., today. While penalties can be serious for multiple DUIs, a qualified attorney at our firm will help you fight those charges and get your freedom back. There’s no time to waste, so call us today.
To make an appointment for a free initial consultation, call us now at (307) 257-7800.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.