Gillette Hunting Without a License Lawyers
Charged with a Hunting License Violation in Wyoming?
Like most states, Wyoming requires you to have a license to hunt or fish. You can apply for a hunting license online on the website of the Wyoming Game & Fish Department. The department warns that once you are ready to pay for your hunting license, you will be redirected to a credit card vendor site to enter payment information. You will need to provide the last four digits of your social security number, which will not be printed on the face of the license but will be kept on file with the department.
Selecting Hunting Applications
To apply for a hunting license, you will need to read certain state statutes and swear under penalty of prosecution that you are a resident of Wyoming. You will also need to enter certain personal information, including your years of residency or days of active military duty and your driver’s license or state ID number. The next step is to choose the drawing and species of game from the list that the system displays. This list is based on your age, residency, open application dates, and any waiting period limitations on moose or bighorn sheep or restrictions for wild bison and mountain goats.
Selecting Application Type, Hunt Area, and Donations
You can apply for a hunting license as an individual, a party organizer, or a party member. If you apply as an individual or a party organizer, you will need to provide specific information, including the area in which you want to hunt. You will also be asked if you want to donate a whole dollar amount of your choosing to either of two voluntary Game & Fish programs. After carefully reviewing your application for accuracy, you can add it to your shopping cart, check out, and pay your fees.
What Are the Consequences of Hunting Without a License?
The legal consequences of hunting without a license in Wyoming can be severe. Hunters are required under the law to make restitution to the state for the economic value of any wildlife taken illegally. Upon conviction, hunting without a license could carry stiff penalties, including fines and jail time.
For example, a Dubois man recently received stiff penalties for his third wildlife conviction, which involved hunting without a license, as reported by the Wyoming Game Wardens Association. The sentence included:
- $6,365 in fines, assessments, and restitution
- One year in jail (with seven days credit for time served)
- Three years supervised probation upon release
- Suspension of hunting and fishing privileges in Wyoming and 44 other states for 18 years
As another example, a Jackson resident was sentenced to 20 days in jail and fines of $1,110 for antler hunting during a closed season and simultaneously violating big game winter closure. In addition to the jail time and fines, the defendant lost his hunting and fishing privileges for three years.
Why You Need a Lawyer
Laws pertaining to licensing for hunting or fishing can be confusing or unclear. Penalties can be severe upon conviction of hunting regulations violations. It is important to have a Gillette criminal defense attorney by your side to protect your rights. An experienced lawyer can help you make informed decisions on how to best defend yourself against charges of hunting without a license.
Why Choose Us?
At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we have an impressive win-loss record in the courtroom. We are down-to-earth, always available, and provide personalized service to our clients. Our skilled Gillette criminal defense team brings strong litigation experience to complex cases. Call us at (307) 257-7800 to schedule a free case strategy session if you are facing charges of hunting without a license.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.