Gillette Firearms Violation Lawyer
Wyoming is a “gun-friendly” state, but when hunting, you must follow the rules, or face the risk of being charged with a crime. If you are facing charges for a firearm violation, you are in a risky legal situation. In Wyoming, hunting is a way of life, and the state is a favored destination for visiting hunters from other states and countries. It is imperative that you fully understand the laws associated with owning and using a gun while hunting, or any other time.
- Firearm possession: You must be 18 years old to own a firearm in the state. Handguns are legal and can be carried in a private vehicle without a permit. Concealed carry is legal as well, with restrictions as to locations where it is legal. Problems regarding firearm possession are often related to hunting, such as possessing a firearm after being restricted from ownership due to having been committed to a mental institution, restricted by court order, or committed to a state or federal prison for drug abuse within one year. Those who have been convicted of a violent felony (in any state) or attempting to convict a violent felony cannot possess a firearm.
- Firearm transportation: You are required to ensure all state and federal laws are followed when transporting firearms across state borders. While it is legal to carry a firearm, loaded or unloaded in Wyoming, once you cross a state border, you could be facing criminal charges.
- License violations: You are at risk of being charged with a misdemeanor or felony if you are found to be in possession of some types of firearms while hunting. The types of weapons that could lead to legal problems if found in your possession while hunting include firearm machine guns, shortened rifles, short shotguns, and some others. All hunters must have a hunting license, whether local or visitor. If you are caught hunting without a valid license, you can face serious penalties. You must carry the license with you and have proof of hunter education It is illegal to provide false information when obtaining a hunting license.
If you are hunting in Wyoming, you must have a full understanding of how to manage your firearm. Common firearm violation charges in the state include:
- Carelessly discharging a firearm that endangers human life.
- Shooting from any moving vehicle, including offroad vehicles and aircraft.
- Hunt while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Using any type of artificial light to hunt or being discovered using lights while in possession of a loaded firearm.
- Firing across a public road.
- Party hunting.
- Interfering with other hunters.
- If a firearm is involved in the commission of a felony, a conviction brings a penalty of an added ten years in prison beyond the penalty imposed for the crime.
- If you have been convicted of a violent crime, you cannot own a firearm, and can be changed with a felony with a penalty of three years in state prison and fines up to $5,000.
- If you possess, manufacture, transport, repair, or sell a deadly weapon that is intended to be used to threaten or harm another person, you could be facing prison time up to five years, and a fine up to $1,000.
- Hunting violations associated with firearms, can lead to a range of penalties, including lifetime suspension of a hunting license.
- It is illegal to abandon big game, you can face charges, whether left at a hunting site or at a meat processing facility.
- It is illegal to sell or purchase big game.
- It is illegal to provide hunting outfitting services without registration.
Any person convicted of these crimes could have their hunting license suspended in the state of Wyoming.
A quality defense can only be crafted by evaluating all the evidence that led to charges being filed. If you are facing a charge related to a firearm violation, it is imperative that you have legal counsel evaluate every detail of the evidence. In many cases, the charges can be dismissed, reduced, or the accused person found not guilty. If you have been arrested and detained for a firearm violation, exercise your right to remain silent, and your right to an attorney.
If you are accused of being in possession of an illegal weapon, your defense may involve establishing that you were in fact, not in possession of the weapon, or that the weapon in question was not illegal. One thing you can count on: when your case is defended by the Gillette hunting and fishing violation attorneys from Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., you can trust that every possible legal action will be taken on your behalf. When it comes to defending firearm offenses, experience matters.
Contact us today at (307) 257-7800 if you are accused of a firearm violation.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.