Gillette Violent Crime Defense Attorneys
Protecting Your Rights After Charges of Violent Crimes in Gillette
Violent crimes make up a specific category of criminal offenses. A violent crime is one in which a victim is harmed or threatened with violence, as stated by the National Institute of Justice (NIJ). Generally, the law allows for harsher penalties for violent crimes than for property crimes.
What Are Considered Violent Crimes in Wyoming?
The term violent felony is defined in the Wyoming statutes at Title 6, Chapter 1. As the law states, crimes considered violent felonies include murder, manslaughter, kidnapping, sexual assault, robbery, aggravated assault, strangulation of a household member, aircraft hijacking, arson, aggravated burglary, and a third or subsequent domestic battery offense.
What Are the Penalties for Violent Crimes?
Penalties for violent crimes in Wyoming will depend on the specific offense and other factors. For example:
- First-degree murder: When murder is premeditated, it is charged in the first degree. By statute, this crime is punishable by life imprisonment or death.
- Second-degree murder: A person who maliciously and purposely causes someone else’s death, but without premeditation, is guilty of second-degree murder. This crime carries a mandatory minimum 20-year prison sentence, and the term could be for life.
- Manslaughter: The crime of killing another person through recklessness or negligence is charged as manslaughter. Voluntary manslaughter is a heat of passion crime. Involuntary manslaughter requires a complete lack of intent to harm or kill, as in the case of drunk driving. The maximum penalty for manslaughter is 20 years in prison.
- Sexual assault: Any degree of sexual assault is a felony. In the first degree, it is punishable by imprisonment of not less than five and not more than 50 years. Prison terms are not less than two or more than 20 years for second-degree sexual assault; and not more than 15 years for third-degree sexual assault.
- Robbery: A person is guilty of robbery in Wyoming if, in the course of committing a crime, he causes bodily injury to another person or threatens another person with or intentionally causes fear of immediate bodily injury. This crime is a felony punishable by a prison term of not more than 10 years.
- Aggravated robbery: The charge becomes aggravated robbery if a deadly weapon was used, or the defendant inflicted or tried to inflict serious bodily injury. It carries a prison sentence of not less than five and not more than 25 years.
Do You Have Rights When You Have Been Accused of a Violent Crime?
You have rights under the Constitution if you are accused of a violent crime. Among other things, police must read you your Miranda rights, advising you of your right to remain silent and your right to an attorney. You also have protection under the Fourth Amendment against unreasonable search and seizure.
The job of our Gillette criminal defense attorneys is to protect your rights and use any violations to get your case dismissed. For example, you have a right to a speedy trial. If that right has been denied, we can file a motion asking the court to dismiss your charges due to the violation.
What Are Some Common Defenses Against Violent Crimes?
The defenses our seasoned trial lawyers raise on your behalf will depend on the charges you are facing and the circumstances surrounding your case. Common defenses against violent crimes include:
- Mistaken identity
- False witness testimony
- Insufficient evidence
- Fabricated evidence
- Constitutional violations
If you have been charged with a violent crime in Wyoming, contact Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. at (307) 257-7800. Our Gillette violent crime defense lawyers have a successful track record for our clients. We bring strong litigation skills to complex criminal cases.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.