Gillette Vehicular Assault Defense Attorneys
Under Wyoming law, a motor vehicle is considered a deadly weapon. You could be charged with vehicular assault if you seriously injured another person while operating a vehicle if you were allegedly driving carelessly or recklessly, impaired by alcohol or drugs, or under a suspended or revoked driver’s license. Our Gillette vehicular assault defense attorneys can provide skilled criminal defense against the charges.
Penalties for vehicular assault can depend on the particular circumstances and how severely victims are injured. Under Wyoming law, simple assault is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $750. Assault can be aggravated, with stiffer penalties, when it involves the use of a deadly weapon. A person who operates a vehicle in a criminally negligent manner and causes the death of another person can be charged with vehicular homicide. This crime is a misdemeanor. It carries penalties that may include up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000. In addition to criminal penalties, if you are convicted of vehicular homicide, your driver’s license will be automatically revoked for one year.
If your Campbell County vehicular assault case involves reckless or careless driving but does not involve impaired driving, it may be possible to plea bargain.
- Reckless driving is a criminal offense defined as driving in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. It is a misdemeanor with penalties upon conviction that may include up to six months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
- Careless driving, on the other hand, is driving in a way that is without the care normally exercised by a reasonably prudent person and that creates an unreasonable risk of harm to other persons or property. This offense is a misdemeanor with less severe penalties than reckless driving. For a first offense, it is punishable by up to 20 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $200.
There may be a fine line between reckless driving and careless driving. If you are facing reckless driving charges, it may be possible to plea bargain for the lesser charge of careless driving. However, if the charges involve driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may not be able to plea bargain down to reckless driving. Wyoming restricts this practice in DUI cases.
Vehicular assault charges can have serious consequences, and you deserve a vigorous defense. Our Gillette criminal defense attorneys will raise any legal defenses that apply in your case. Common defenses against vehicular assault include the following:
- You did not cause the accident that led to the victim’s injuries: Evidence to show that the accident was not your fault can help your case.
- Your driving was not reckless: The prosecution has the burden of proof to show that your operation of the vehicle was reckless enough to cause the crash.
- You were not impaired: If your attorney can show that your DUI test was not administered properly in accordance with regulations, it can cast doubt on the prosecution’s claim that you were driving under the influence.
- The victim was not seriously injured: If the accident victim’s injury does not qualify as serious bodily injury, it may weaken the case against you.
Presenting a strong defense is critical to the outcome of your case. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we provide skilled, aggressive defense against criminal charges. Our Gillette trial attorneys have extensive experience advocating on behalf of our clients.
If you have been accused of vehicular assault, contact us at (307) 257-7800 for a free case strategy session.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.