Home Sex Crimes Sex Offender Registration
Gillette Sex Offender Registration Lawyers

Gillette Sex Offender Registration Attorneys

Protecting Your Freedom and Your Reputation

A conviction for sexual assault or any type of sexual misconduct against a minor carries heavy penalties in Wyoming. And even after you have served your sentence, you will be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life.

Once you have been placed on the Wyoming sex offender registry, you will have to wait at least 10 years before you will be allowed to petition for removal. And people convicted of sexual crimes in other states are required to register right away when they come to Wyoming.

Placement on the sex offender registry causes intense embarrassment and social scrutiny, and anyone is able to access this information. And there are strict legal penalties for failing to register.

If you have been charged with any sort of sex crime in Wyoming, it’s crucial to contact an experienced Gillette criminal defense lawyer right away. Our team of skilled trial attorneys at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. will aggressively defend your freedom and find the best strategy to get your charges reduced or dismissed.

Call (307) 257-7800 to learn more today.

Back to Top

Who Has to Register as a Sex Offender?

Anyone arrested for a sexual offense after July 1, 1999 or sentenced after January 1, 1985 must register immediately after sentencing or before being released from custody.

When you move to a new area, you must register with the sheriff where you reside right away. People coming to Wyoming from another state are required to register with the local county within 3 days of entering the state.

Offenses that require sex offender registry include:

Back to Top

Your Information Is Available to the Public

When you register, you will be required to tell local authorities where you work, where you live, and the sexual crimes you were convicted of. You will also have to provide fingerprints, palm prints, a DNA sample, your social security number, the age of all your victims, and other information.

Once you have been added to the registry, any member of the public can see your:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Photograph
  • Date and place of birth
  • Crimes you were convicted of
  • Physical characteristics
  • Employer’s address
  • The address of any school you are attending

Back to Top

Penalties for Failing to Register

People who fail to register or neglect to update their registration after moving to a new location face the following penalties:

  • First offense — Fines up to $1,000 and up to 5 years in prison
  • Second offense — Fines up to $1,000 and up to 10 years in prison

Back to Top

What to Do If You Are Charged with a Sex Crime in Gillette

If you are facing charges of sexual assault or any type of sexual offense involving a minor, never speak to police officers without a Gillette sex crime defense attorney present. Police and district attorneys are extremely aggressive about prosecuting these crimes.

Don’t make any attempt to contact your accuser or talk about the case with anyone who could be called upon as a witness. As soon as you become aware that you are under investigation, you can assist your case by doing the following:

  • Contact a Gillette criminal defense attorney.
  • Avoid your alleged victim and any accusers.
  • Make a list for your attorney of witnesses who can support your side of the story.
  • Tell your attorney if your accuser has any hidden motives.
  • Collect GPS information, text messages, toll bridge receipts, and any information that supports your alibi.

Back to Top

Have a Campbell County Sex Crime Defense Attorney on Your Side

Being placed on the sex offender registry is a living nightmare that can have devastating effects on your reputation, your relationships, and your employment prospects. At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we’ll provide you with a vigorous defense to help prevent this from happening.

We understand how difficult things can be for someone who has been charged with a serious offense. That’s why we’re available to talk by phone at any time, 24/7.

Call (307) 257-7800 to schedule a FREE case strategy session today.

Back to Top

Additional Information

Steven Titus

Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases

Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.