How the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry Curbs Your Freedoms
In Wyoming, defendants convicted of certain sexual offenses must register as sex offenders. The sex offender registry is a public database containing the names of all sex offenders required to register who are living in the state. Under the law, any sex offender residing, working, or attending school in Wyoming must register with the sheriff of the county where he or she is living. Requirement to register as a sex offender can significantly curb the personal freedoms most Americans enjoy.
How Can Sex Offender Registration Affect Your Freedom?
Sex offender registration means a loss of personal freedom and privacy. Once you are convicted and ordered to register, you must do so immediately after sentencing. During the registration process with the sheriff’s office, you are fingerprinted, palm printed, and photographed, and must provide a sample of your DNA. You are required to provide a long list of personal information, including your phone numbers and email addresses, your Social Security number, your license plate number, a description of your vehicle, the crime of which you were convicted, the date and place of your conviction, and the age of each victim.
Some of the information you are required to provide can be accessed by any member of the public, including your:
- Date and place of birth
- Physical characteristics
- Crime of which you were convicted
- Physical address
- Employer and/or school address
For certain offenses, law enforcement must provide notice of the registration to all neighbors living within at least 750 feet of your residence, and to any schools, youth groups, or religious organizations within 750 feet.
What Are the Penalties for Failure to Register As a Sex Offender
If you are required to register as a sex offender and fail to do so, you face criminal penalties, which may include up to five years in prison and up to $1,000 in fines for a first offense. A second offense carries a prison sentence of up to 10 years. Failure to pay required fees is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to six months in county jail and a fine of $750.
What Happens If You Move or Travel as a Registered Sex Offender?
As a registered sex offender, you are no longer free to simply pick up and go. Any time you change your address, you must notify law enforcement.
- If you move to a different residence in the same county, you must inform the sheriff’s office of your new address.
- If you move to a different county, you must notify the law enforcement agency in the new county within three days of moving.
- If you plan to leave the country for any reason, you must notify law enforcement and provide a travel itinerary.
How Does Sex Offender Registration Affect Your Future?
Requirement to register as a sex offender can have a significant impact on your future. It can affect your employability and job prospects. Many employers will automatically reject any applicant with a criminal record. It can also make it difficult to secure housing. Landlords, listing agents, and private sellers are more likely to reject your application if you are registered as a sex offender. If you were convicted of a felony sex crime, you could lose your right to own a firearm. In Wyoming, you can also lose your right to vote.
How Can a Gillette Criminal Defense Lawyer Help?
At Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we understand the serious repercussions a sex crime conviction can have, not the least of which is sex offender registration. Our skilled criminal defense team brings strong litigation experience to our clients’ cases. If you are facing sexual offense charges, call us today at (307) 257-7800.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.