How Do Successive DUIs Stack Up in Wyoming?
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration calls impaired driving a “major problem” in the state of Wyoming. In as recent as 2019, individuals charged with DUIs made up 27.78% of all arrests across the state, with an average reported blood alcohol content of 0.16%. These DUI arrests primarily affected those in the 26-30 year-old age range. The fatality rate associated with DUIs in Wyoming was “significantly higher” than the national average in 2017 as well. When you are arrested for a DUI in Wyoming, this is the backdrop of what you’re up against.
The state of Wyoming takes the law very seriously when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, especially if you are a repeat offender. When you have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more, you can be charged with DUI penalties. You should do everything you can on your part to avoid putting yourself in the position of facing consequences associated with DUI charges. If you are arrested, however, you should be aware of the law and your rights. Don’t try to navigate your predicament alone. Call (307) 257-7800 to speak with a Gillette DUI defense attorney at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C.
Increasing Penalties for DUI Charges in Wyoming
It is important for you to understand that you can be convicted of a DUI when you have a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater. A DUI charge can also apply to you if it is found that you are under the influence of controlled substances. The consequences associated with a DUI become more severe on the second, third, and fourth offenses. This can include costly fines, jail time, and possibly additional factors that can impact your future. The following is a breakdown of what you may face:
Penalties For First Offense DUI
You can be charged with a first offense DUI if you do not have a prior offense within the past 10 years. It must be established that you were the person driving or that you were in control of the vehicle. Being in control involves a variety of factors that come down to your ability to set the car in motion. You will be dealing with a misdemeanor, and the penalties you might face include:
- Up to $750 in fines
- Six months in jail, at the most
- A requirement to complete a drug and alcohol evaluation by the court
- A possible option to work while you serve the required prison time, otherwise known as work-release
- Probation that can include sobriety monitoring
- Requirement to install an interlock device for one year if you were found with a BAC of .15% or more.
- Up to two 90-day license suspensions for failing a test and conviction related to DUI
Penalties For Second Offense DUI
You can be charged with a second offense DUI in Wyoming if you’ve been convicted once within the past 10 years, and the consequences you can face will be more severe. This also is a misdemeanor, and can include:
- Fines between $200-$750, in addition to other possible court-related costs.
- Up to six months in jail, with additional time if probation is violated
- A three-year requirement to obtain and maintain special SR-22 insurance, which is specifically added to the policies of those convicted of DUI.
- Mandatory participation in a one-year 24/7 Sobriety Program
- Completion of a substance abuse assessment.
- A suspended license for at least 90 days
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for one year.
Penalties For Third Offense DUI
If you have two prior offenses within the past 10 years, then you could be facing consequences for a third offense DUI. Just because this too may be considered a misdemeanor doesn’t mean the penalties will be any less severe. The consequences you’ll have at this point of an offense can include:
- Fines between $750-$3,000, with additional court-related costs possible
- At least 30 days and up to six months in jail
- Required SR-22 insurance
- Mandatory enrollment in a 24/7 Sobriety Program that involves alcohol and drug-related testing
- An additional year in jail and $750 more in fines if you endangered a child or committed other aggravating factors.
- A three-year driver’s license suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for two years.
Penalties For Fourth Offense DUI
When you are convicted of a fourth offense DUI in the past 10 years, you will be facing a felony conviction. The consequences for this can be among the most severe charges you’ll have to deal with for a DUI, and they can include the following:
- Up to $10,000 in fines, among other court-related costs
- A maximum of 7 years in jail
- SR-22 insurance
- The lifetime suspension of your license
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for life.
- Treatment related to alcohol and substance abuse.
Enhanced Penalties for DUIs in Wyoming
You can face enhanced penalties, such as a felony, for DUI under certain circumstances. These include:
- Causing serious bodily injury
- Having a passenger in your vehicle under the age of 16 at the time of a DUI.
The fines and possible jail time will depend on the type of offense and whether this is a first, second, third offense or more. But you could be looking at fines of at least $2,000, the suspension of your driver’s license for at least three years, and jail time that may reach 20 years. Consult with an attorney as soon as possible.
Don’t Wait to Contact a Gillette DUI Defense Attorney
The judge presiding over your DUI case will have a lot of say over your future in light of available information. Facing charges alone can negatively impact you in multiple ways for the years to come but you may have options. It is essential for you to have a Gillette DUI defense lawyer on your side who can evaluate the circumstances of your arrest, can gather much-needed evidence to build a solid case in your favor, and who knows what your rights are in the midst of the charges that you face.
The timeline for dealing with the legal fallout from a DUI arrest can vary, but we will be sure to communicate with you every step of the way about what’s involved in the legal process specifically related to you. You can also be assured we have an unbeatable work ethic and that our ultimate goal is to have your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Call Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. today at (307) 257-7800.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.