Gillette Marijuana Defense Attorney
While surrounding states like Colorado have legalized marijuana for medicinal and recreational use, marijuana is still outlawed in Wyoming. Being charged with a marijuana crime is serious, and being convicted can make it difficult to find employment or housing, and can even bar individuals from receiving student loans.
Being charged with a marijuana crime does not have to follow you around for the rest of your life. Talk to Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. There are defenses for marijuana crimes, and we’ll help you hammer one out if you’ve been accused. Call (307) 257-7800 today for a free case strategy session with our Gillette drug crime defense attorney.
Marijuana is a controlled substance in Wyoming. People who are caught with it will likely be charged with "possession of a controlled substance." There are four marijuana possession crimes a person can be charged with in Wyoming:
- Being under the influence of marijuana is against the law, regardless of whether or not the individual is driving at the time. Those found to be under the influence of marijuana will likely face a misdemeanor charge. The penalties of this charge can be serious, including up to six months in jail and fines up to $750.
- Possession of drug paraphernalia such as a pipe will be a separate charge, but will carry similar penalties as being under the influence of marijuana.
- Possession of less than three ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge. If convicted, the penalties include up to one year in jail and fines up to $1,000.
- Possession of more than three ounces of marijuana is considered a felony in Wyoming. These convictions carry the most serious penalties, including up to five years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
In cases where a person was within 500 feet of a school while possessing marijuana, he will face the above penalties with an added $500 fine.
The penalties for driving while under the influence of marijuana are the same as the penalties for drunk driving in Wyoming. First-time offenders may face up to six months in prison, a fine of $750, or both. When a child under the age of 16 was in the vehicle with the drugged driver, the driver could face six months to a year in prison.
Possession is not the only marijuana crime a person may be charged with in Wyoming.
- Cultivating, or growing, marijuana in any amount will likely be considered a misdemeanor for a first offense. If convicted, a person may face up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. But there may be other charges, such as possession, added to a cultivation charge.
- Selling and distributing marijuana is the most serious marijuana crime in Wyoming. Any person found to be selling or distributing marijuana, in any amount, may be charged with a felony. If convicted, that person faces up to ten years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Being convicted of any marijuana crime can carry severe penalties that will remain with you for the rest of your life. In addition to jail time and fines, a conviction remains on your record, and can keep you from school, housing, and employment opportunities.
If you’ve been charged with a marijuana crime, don’t let it affect your future. Contact our Gillette criminal defense attorneys at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C. at (307) 257-7800 today. We know how to win cases, and we will fight hard to help you clear your name. Your consultation is free.
- State of Wyoming v. C.H.—2017
Felony Possession and Felony Distribution Charge Dismissed
Past Results: Disclaimer
Initials of the Defendant may be changed to hide the identity of the individual whose case is described on the page. The case results are factually accurate. These case results were obtained by Mr. Titus throughout the course of his professional career, including past experience at a previous law firm. However, every case is different, and past results by no means guarantee future success.
Your FREE Case Strategy Session
On All Injury and Criminal Cases
Contact our office right now to speak to
someone who wants to help you.