While crimes related to certain drugs, such as marijuana, have decreased in recent years in Wyoming, the numbers of crimes involving harder drugs, such as methamphetamine, have increased. In fact, Wyoming has a higher percentage of hard drug crimes than the national average.
Unfortunately, the numbers are not always accurate. In some cases, people are charged and convicted for meth crimes that they did not commit. If you have been charged with a meth crime, you need a good defense. And Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., can provide you with it.
In the United States, controlled dangerous substances (CDS) are categorized into five different schedules. Schedule I lists the drugs that are thought to be the most dangerous and have a high likelihood of addiction, which also have no medical value. Schedule V lists the comparatively least dangerous.
Meth is a Schedule II drug, because it does have some medicinal use, but it is highly regulated and the penalties for unauthorized possession or use are severe.
In Wyoming, it is illegal to possess any amount of meth. Those caught in possession of meth will likely be charged with a misdemeanor for a first offense. The penalties for possession of meth in the amount of three grams or less can include a fine up to $1,000, one year in jail, or both.
Subsequent offenses for possessing these amounts lead to greater penalties.
When a person is found in possession of more than three grams of meth, the penalties can include a fine up to $5,000 and up to five years in prison. In certain cases, a judge can sentence a person to both of these penalties. The maximum punishment is seven years and $15,000 fine.
It is important to understand that the law does not differentiate between someone who is selling meth and someone who is giving it away, manufacturing, or delivering the drug. This means that if someone is delivering a package of meth, even unknowingly, he could potentially be convicted for the crime of selling meth.
In the past, the Wyoming courts have also determined that one person who brought another person to meet someone selling meth may be guilty of a crime. These individuals may be charged and sentenced similarly to someone who was actually making or selling the drug.
The penalties for selling, distributing, or even arranging a meeting between two people wanting to make a transaction of meth can be very severe in Wyoming. Because meth is also banned federally, a person could face up to 40 years in prison with additional charges levied. When the individual has prior convictions, he could possibly be facing a life sentence. In addition to this, he will also face heavy fines.
While it may seem hopeless at the time of your arrest, there are possible defenses to meth crimes.
When a person is charged with a possession crime, the prosecution only needs to prove that the defendant knew the substance in his or her control was meth. A possible defense may be that the defendant did not know.
When a person is charged with meth possession, a defense often used is that the person possessed it for personal use. If it can be argued that you had a prescription for the meth, this defense may be used to ensure there will be no additional possession charges.
Meth crimes are becoming more common Wyoming. But at Steven Titus & Associates, P.C., we know not everyone arrested for a meth crime is guilty. And we know the necessary defenses to help prove it.
If you have been charged with a meth crime in Wyoming, give our experienced Gillette drug crime lawyer a call today at (307) 257-7800. We can review your case in a free case strategy session, and we have the necessary knowledge to defend your rights.
Upon an arrest, a police officer will read your Miranda warning (commonly known as Miranda rights). Your Miranda rights include the right to remain silent to avoid self-incrimination and your right to legal counsel. If you have been arrested or investigated without being offered your Miranda rights, your statements may be deemed inadmissible in a court or criminal trial.
Though specific events can differ on a case-by-case basis, there are certain things that you can expect immediately following an arrest. If you are arrested, an officer may handcuff you and take you to Central Booking where you will go through initial processing. After, you will be processed for arraignment (essentially your first appearance before a judge).
We understand that many good people just get caught in wrong situations at the wrong times. Generally speaking, the likelihood of facing a jail time sentence is pretty slim as a first-time offender. Though, prosecutors in the state of Wyoming are incredibly tough when trying drug-related offenses and will often try to pursue the harshest penalties under the law to crack down on the war on drugs.
Even if you think that the case against you is too incriminating, do not make the mistake of thinking that you do not have options available to you. Working with a criminal defense attorney who has trial experience and criminal law knowledge can only improve your chances of securing a reduction in charges, or in some cases, acquittal or complete dismissal.
Results can never be guaranteed, but we can promise the following: